Education Abstracts (ED/011)
Years of Publication: 1949 - 1964
Audience: Field workers, research students, others engaged or interested in fundamental education.
Languages: English, French, Spanish (as from 1952)
Frequency: Quarterly
Purpose: The purpose of Abstracts was to “supply at regular brief intervals a descriptive bibliography of technical materials relevant to fundamental education throughout the world” (Fundamental Education Abstracts, Vol. 3, No. 1 1951, ED/011). The periodicals consisted of abstracts (short summaries) of studies in the field of fundamental education.
Note: The periodical was titled Fundamental Education Abstracts in the period 1949 - 1951 (Vol. III, No. 12).
Quarterly Bulletin of Fundamental Education (ED/09)
Year of publication: 1949-1952 (Vol IV, No 2.) (Superseded by Fundamental and Adult Education)
Audience: Educational journals, education professionals
Languages: English, French, Spanish (from 1950)
Frequency: Quarterly
Published by the Fundamental Education Division of UNESCO, the Quarterly Bulletin’s purpose was to “draw attention to experiments and projects in fundamental education which seems to offer fresh lines of attack on old problems” (Quarterly Bulletin of Fundamental Education, Vol. 1, No. 2, 1949, 37.002(100)[13]). The Bulletin featured articles written by scholars and educators on the topic of Fundamental Education.
Fundamental and Adult Education (ED/09)
Years of publication: 1952 (Vol. IV, No. 3) - 1960 (Superseded by: International journal of adult and youth education)
Audience: Educational journals, education professionals
Languages: English, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian
Frequency: Quarterly
Purpose: Compared to its predecessor Quarterly Bulletin of Fundamental Education, the new Fundamental and Adult Education had a broader scope. Including the notion of “Adult” in the title of the bulletin, meant that the bulletin increasingly included matters of adult education as well as fundamental education. The publication's aim remained the same: to highlight new innovations and projects in fundamental and adult education. Moreover, each issue of the bulletin became focused on a particular theme such as the problems of the use of vernacular languages in literacy campaigns and social science in educational work.
International education news and digest for the use of educational journals (ED/028)
Years of publication: 1960 -1962
Audience: Education press of Member States
Languages: English, French
Frequency: Irregular
Purpose: The periodical was written as a supplement to the service of articles which the Divisions of Educational Information and Materials of UNESCO’s Department of Education provided to the educational press of Member States. The purpose of the periodical was to draw attention to “certain interesting articles published in the world educational press and to new journals as they appear” (International education news and digest for the use of editors of educational journals, no. 1, 1061, ED/028).
International Journal of adult and youth education (ED/09)
Years of publication: 1961 -1964
Audience: Educational journals, education professionals
Languages: English, French, Spanish, Arabic, Russian
Frequency: Quarterly
Purpose: This periodical published the latest studies and developments within the field of adult and youth education. The aim was to improve educational methods by letting professionals share their knowledge with each other. For this reason, the readers of the periodical were also its authors, as scholars and professionals contributed with the content of the journal.
International understanding at school: A circular (ED/038)
Years of publication: 1961- 1999
Audience: Teachers and participants of the Associated Schools Project
Languages: Teachers and participants of the Associated Schools Project
Frequency: Biannual
Purpose: The circular was created after teachers and participants of the Associated School Project in Education for International Understanding expressed a wish to be better informed about each other’s work and the progress of the project. The purpose of the circular was that teachers engaged in the project could use the periodical to communicate with international colleagues in other schools and countries on problems, particular needs, relevant material and ideas to coordinated projects. The early versions of the circular featured reports, notes on projects in associated schools, news lists of participating Schools and new publications and documents. In the later versions of the circular, studies relating to the project are more prominent in the content.
Literacy: a newsletter (ED/051)
Years of publication: 1967 – 1974
Audience: National and international institutions, governmental authorities in Member States, UNESCO National Commissions, United Nations National Commissions, United Nations specialized Agencies and other intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations concerned with literacy training for adults
Languages: English, French, Spanish
Frequency: Yearly (1967-1969), Quarterly (1970-1974)
Purpose: The purpose of the Literacy newsletter was to inform readers about activities, questions, problems and answers to matters concerning literacy training for adults. The aim was thus to improve literacy training worldwide, by distributing information on the matter on a larger scale. The newsletters contained information about literacy conferences, case studies and methods used in various countries, interesting facts and lists of literature relevant to the theme. Moreover, the newsletter was written in close connection to the Experimental World Literacy Programme.
International Education Year, 1970: Bulletin (ED/061 & ED/X61)
Years of publication: 1969-1970
Audience: Member States, United Nations agencies, National Commissions for UNESCO, intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations
Languages: English, French, Spanish (as of 1970), Arabic (limited) and Russian (limited)
Frequency: Monthly
Purpose: The Bulletin's purpose was to inform its readers about the activities and plans for the International Education Year 1970.
Prospects: (ED/062)
Years of publication: 1969 - current
Audience: Educators, educational institutions and teaching personnel in Member States
Languages: English, French, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Arabic, Chinese, Korean, Serbo-Croatian, Polish, Hungarian, Thai
Frequency: Quarterly
Purpose: Prospects purpose is to foster the exchange of knowledge on education learning, curriculum, and assessment. The earlier editions of the journal focused on primary school teaching and consisted mainly of articles written by scholars in that field. The later publications had a broader scope on education in general and published both articles dealing with studies, methods, and problems in education, letters to the editor, news, bibliographies and letters to the editor.
UNESCO Adult Education Information Notes (ED/086)
Years of publication: 1973 – 1993
Audience: Professionals in adult education
Languages: English, French, Spanish, Russian, Chinese (limited)
Frequency: Quarterly
Purpose: This periodical dealt with adult education activities around the world. It featured articles on bibliographical notes on relevant educational documentation, meeting and conference summaries, and news in adult education.
Note: From No. 1 (1973) to No. 8. (1974) the periodical was titled: Adult education: information notes.
ALSED – Newsletter (ED/094)
Years of publication: 1975-1984
Audience: Anthropologist, Sociolinguists
Languages: English, French, Spanish (as of1978)
Frequency: Irregular (approximately triannual)
Purpose: The goal of ALSED was to “bring together anthropologists and sociolinguists not only for the purpose of advancing our frontiers of knowledge, but also but especially for helping all nations to meet some of the most urgent educational needs of our times” (ALSED - Newsletter, No. 24, 1981, ED/094). ALSED reported on meetings, conferences, reports, studies, news, books and journals which dealt with educational development in the field of anthropology and language science.
Connect: UNESCO international science, technology and environmental education newsletter (ED/0102)
Years of publication: 1976-2006
Audience: Professionals and institutions in environmental education.
Languages: English, French, Spanish, Russian (as of 1977), Arabic (as of 1978)
Frequency: Quarterly
Purpose: Connect was a periodical which dealt with the international exchange of information on environmental education. Articles published in the newsletter dealt with conferences, methods, techniques, news, and readers input on environmental education. The purpose of Connect was to share knowledge between professional and thus improve environmental education worldwide.
Codiesee: information and liaison newsletter (ED/0135)
Years of publication: 1980-1982
Audience: Staff and Member States involved with CODIESEE
Languages: English, French
Frequency: Irregular (approximately annually)
Purpose: Codiesee: information and liaison newsletter was aimed at informing its readers on the work of the Codiesee (Cooperation in Research and Development for Educational Innovation in South East Europe). The periodical featured articles on the progress of the project, the development-progress of the education system in the countries involved in the project, and studies relevant to Codiesee.
Technical and vocational education (ED/0140)
Years of publication: 1981-1989
Audience: Professionals in technical and vocational education
Languages: English, French
Frequency: Irregular (approximately yearly)
Purpose: The information bulletin was published as part of UNESCO’s programme of technical and vocational education. It was meant to promote the exchange of information between those responsible for planning, administrating, and teaching in technical and vocational education. The bulletin featured studies, meetings, training seminars and publications in technical and vocational education. Readers were also an active part of the information bulletin as they sent in news items, reports and materials which were published in the bulletin.
Information Note: Insiste (ED/0158)
Years of publication: 1985 – 1993 (Superseded by: Insiste/Project 2000+)
Audience: Staff and members of the International Network for Information in Science and Technology Education (INSISTE)
Languages: English, French, Spanish, Arabic
Frequency: Quarterly
Purpose: The purpose of the Information Note was to facilitate communication within the International Network for Information in Science and Technology Education (INSISTE). The editors hoped that the communication channel would allow for ideas to be exchanged and new developments to be publicized. Articles dealt with national and international conferences, network members’ activities, upcoming events and relevant publications.
Educational Space: Newsletter (ED/0190)
Years of publication: 1989 - 1992
Audience: General Public, professionals in the field of educational buildings and furniture
Languages: English, French, Spanish
Frequency: Semiannual.
Purpose: Educational Space was published by the Educational Architecture Unit of UNESCO. The objective of the newsletter was to “make the current and accumulated experience of this programme available to a wider public” and to “strengthen and support the establishment and further development of an International Information Network on Educational Buildings and Furniture” (UNESCO's Educational Buildings and Furniture Programme, No 1, 1989, ED/0190). The newsletters dealt with the development of programmes carried out in Member States as well as a short section on new publications and upcoming events in the field.
EFTA 2000 Bulletin: Education for all (ED/0201)
Years of publication: 1989 - 2000
Audience: Staff and Member Countries involved in Education for All
Languages: English, French, Spanish, Arabic
Frequency: Quarterly
Purpose: The EFTA 2000 Bulletin provided news on the follow-up to the World Conference on Education for All (1990) in which 155 countries pledged to provide education for all children and adults and massively reduce illiteracy before the year of 2000. The bulletin's aim was that it should serve as a communication channel in which important information could be shared on what is being tried and achieved, thereby enabling countries and agencies to learn from each other. The bulletin discussed the state of education in various countries, relevant publications, previous and upcoming events and news. The later publications had their own focus such as “education for all forum”, “The new Delhi Summit: the outcome", and “three former Soviet republics in crisis.”
The challenge 1990: International Literacy Year news (ED/0184)
Years of publication: 1989-1990
Audience: Staff and interested public
Languages: English, French, Spanish
Frequency: Annually
Purpose: The Challenge 1990 was a periodical which reported on the International Literacy Year 1990’s news. It contained news on UNESCO’s activities in the field, opinion pieces, and news from Member States.
Education Brief (ED/0238)
Years of publication: 1994-1997
Audience: Ministers of education, policy makers in the educational field
Languages: English, French
Frequency: Irregular
Purpose: Education Brief was a newsletter published by UNESCO’s Education Sector. The periodical's purpose was to provide decision makers on educational matters with knowledge of issues which they normally did not have time to go into depth with. Thus, the newsletter was meant as a tool which policy makers could use. Each issue was written on a certain topic such as “Improving School Management,” “Adjustment and National Capacity Building in Education,” and “Choices in Textbook Development.”
Insiste/Project 2000+ (ED/0158)
Years of publication: 1994 - 1995 (integrated in Connect)
Audience: Staff and members of the International Network for Information in Science and Technology Education (INSISTE) and Project 2000+
Languages: English, French
Frequency: Quarterly
Purpose: This bulletin served as a channel of communication for both INSISTE and Project 2000+. Articles dealt with activities connected the work of INSISTE and/or Project 2000+, conferences, upcoming events and relevant publications.
Peddro: Networking of information in the field of drug abuse prevention through education (ED/0218)
Years of publication: 1994 -2003
Audience: Members of the Peddro Network (health professionals, NGOs, schools, institutions and members of the teaching profession)
Languages: English, French, Spanish
Frequency: Irregular
Purpose: The aim of the Peddro newsletter was to enable its readers to share their knowledge with each other on how to prevent drug abuse through education. This exchange of information would permit its “readers an opportunity to broaden their prevention ideas and improve their methods of implementation” (Peddro: Networking of information in the field of drug abuse prevention through education, no. 1, 1994, 613.8(07)[4]). The newsletter reported on activities of the network, the result of studies in the field, and permitted its readers to comment on the content in the “Readers’ letters”.
UNEVOC info (ED/0229)
Years of publication: 1994 - 1999
Audience: Professionals in the field of technical and vocational education
Languages: English, French
Frequency: Quarterly
Purpose: The information letter reported on the activities carried out in the framework of the International Project on Technical and Vocational Education (UNEVOC). Its purpose was to inform professionals in the field about the work and projects of UNEVOC.
Countdown: UNESCO education news (ED/0237)
Years of publication: 1995 – 2001
Audience: All UNESCO staff working with Education
Languages: English, French
Frequency: Quarterly
Purpose: Countdown’s purpose was to promote networking between Paris headquarters and the other field units. It was meant as an “information source for all UNESCO staff working to advance the goal of Education for All” (Countdown: UNESCO Education News, NO. 1, 1995, 37(100) [8969]). It reported on activities, challenges and trends which UNESCO employees in the education field encountered.
Education Today (ED/0289)
Years of publication: 2002 – 2006
Audience: UNESCO’s Education Sector
Languages: English, French, Spanish, Russian, Arabic, Chinese
Frequency: Quarterly
Purpose: Education Today was the newsletter of UNESCO’s Education Sector. It reported on trends and innovations in education, world-wide efforts towards Education for All, and UNESCO’s own educational activities.
UNESCO Forum on Higher Education, Research and Knowledge (ED/0368)
Years of publication: 2005 –2009
Audience: Researchers, policymakers and experts on higher education
Languages: English, French
Frequency: Biannual (2005-2006), annual (2007-2009)
Purpose: The objective of the newsletter was to increase UNESCO Forum’s visibility and create awareness of its activities. The newsletter reported on activities and news within the project and promoted discussions and exchanges between professionals in the field of Higher Education, Research and Knowledge.
Created by Isabelle Louisa Geoffroy, 1 March 2024